Critic’s Choice

Tue Feb 09, 2016 at 5:22 pm


In the mid-1960s, the Cleveland Orchestra under George Szell produced classic, sparkling recordings of Mozart Piano Concertos, with the great Robert Casadesus as soloist.

Even with an entirely new complement of musicians, expect the legacy of elegant Mozart to continue at Carnegie Hall next Sunday evening, when the equally great contemporary pianist Mitsuko Uchida plays the composer’s Piano Concertos No. 17 and No. 25, conducting the orchestra from the keyboard. Uchida’s cantabile touch, and the sense of direct communication she has with the composers she interprets, make her a compelling performer.

The program will also offer Mozart’s Symphony No. 34.

Mitsuko Uchida and the Cleveland Orchestra peform music of  Mozart 7 p.m. Sunday at Carnegie Hall

Leave a Comment


 Subscribe via RSS