Thorvaldsdottir named Philharmonic’s second Emerging Composer

Sun Jun 07, 2015 at 2:08 pm
Anna Thorvaldsdottir

Anna Thorvaldsdottir

The New York Philharmonic announced Friday that Anna Thorvaldsdottir has been named the orchestra’s second Kravis Emerging Composer, as part of The Marie-Josée Kravis Prize for New Music.

Thorvaldsdottir’s music has been gaining increasing renown internationally and especially in New York in recent seasons. She will receive a $50,000 stipend, which includes a Philharmonic commission. The orchestra will perform other music by the Icelandic composer in upcoming Philharmonic seasons.

“Anna Thorvaldsdottir has one of the most unique and expressive voices in the compositional scene today,” said music director Alan Gilbert in a statement released by the Philharmonic. “Her uncompromising approach to building soundscapes creates a visceral, pictorial aesthetic that is deeply connected to her Icelandic heritage. It is thrilling to be able to present her with this platform that will allow her music to be even better known in New York. This is the very purpose for which we created the position of the Kravis Emerging Composer.”

“I am incredibly honored and grateful to be named the New York Philharmonic’s Kravis Emerging Composer,” said Thorvaldsdottir. “Writing for orchestra constitutes such a fundamental part of my voice as a composer and I am deeply looking forward to working on this commission for them. It is a wonderful privilege to take part in this way in the New York Philharmonic’s important contribution to new music.”

Thorvaldsdottir succeeds Sean Shepherd, who was named the inaugural Kravis Emerging Composer in June 2012.

Leave a Comment


 Subscribe via RSS