Critic’s Choice

Wed Mar 25, 2015 at 1:45 pm
Sharon Harms

Sharon Harms

The Argento Ensemble’s “Mahler as New York Contemporary” series has been one of the high points of the current music season. The concerts juxtapose music from contemporary composers responding to Mahler with chamber versions of his orchestral works. The first two events have offered fine contemporary music and beautifully played and realized performances of Symphony No. 9 and Das Lied von der Erde.

This Thursday, the series continues with some intensely exciting modern music—Ligeti’s Cello Concerto, Kya by Giacinto Scelsi, and Matthias Spahlinger’s Furioso—alongside Mahler’s Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen in Schoenberg’s reduction, with soprano Sharon Harms. The suggested donation of $15 ($10 for students) is an incredible bargain.

The Argento Ensemble’s “Mahler as New York Contemporary III” takes place  at Cary Hall/DiMenna Center, 7:30 p.m. Thursday.

Leave a Comment


 Subscribe via RSS