Met’s “Don Carlo” impressive individually, a work in progress collectively

The Metropolitan Opera was fairly well packed on Monday for the return…

Stober makes pleasing impression in generous recital at Weill Hall

It is indeed possible to have too much of a good thing.…

Botstein’s intriguing program of post-mortem rarities needs more life from podium

“Opus Posthumous” was the title of the American Symphony Orchestra’s Thursday night…

Aided by Josefowicz’s fire, Adams returns to form with “Scheherazade.2″

John Adams has lately seemed in danger of being spoiled by success.…

In Arnone’s hands, Finnissy’s piano music proves spellbinding

There are two days remaining in the Michael Finnissy Retrospective at Spectrum,…


Top Ten Performances of 2014

1. Yuja Wang in recital at Carnegie Hall
If this list had…

After 20 years, Michael Tilson Thomas and the San Francisco Symphony are still coloring outside the lines

Nearly 41 years ago, a lanky 29-year-old stepped onto the stage of…

Powered by WP Bannerize

The Weekend

Critic’s Choice

April 01, 2015 at 12:29 pm


Western classical music and Christianity are inextricably and beneficially linked, with roots long preceding the development of music notation—which eventually opened the way towards musical abstraction, music for music’s sake. The Christian religious rituals commemorated and celebrated this Holy Week are, by far, the most important ones in that long relationship.

Of all the musical celebrations this week, the most intriguing combination of content and setting will be the two concerts that Pomerium will sing at the Cloisters this Saturday. Set inside the Medieval museum, the program combines plainchant and liturgical music, demonstrations of both compositional technique and aesthetic fervor. The choral music on the programs represents the greatest names in Renaissance music: Du Fay, Gesualdo, Monteverdi, Senfl, de Lassus, William Byrd, and more.

Pomerium performs Renaissance vocal music at 1 p.m. and 3 p.m. Saturday, at the Cloisters.


April 1

Diderot String Quartet
Bach: The Art of Fugue
7 p.m. Spectrum


Critic’s Choice

Michael Finnissy is one of the finest contemporary composers, and his music

David Geffen’s $100 million gift buys naming rights at Avery Fisher

Lincoln Center announced Wednesday that Avery Fisher Hall will be renamed David…

Powered by WP Bannerize